CFDA Fashion Awards Honor Industry Talent

NEW YORK - JUNE 07: Actress Sarah Jessica Parker and designer Diane von Furstenberg Diane von Furstenberg attend the 2010 CFDA Fashion Awards at Alice Tully Hall, Lincoln Center on June 7, 2010 in New York City. (Photo by Dimitrios Kambouris/Getty Images)

The 2010 CFDA Fashion Awards, arguably the biggest night in fashion, recognized industry players for their contributions to American fashion on Monday night at Lincoln Center.

The evening’s honorees included famed supermodel, Iman, who received the Fashion Icon Award.

On the CFDA’s big night, it should therefore be no surprise that we’ve got a whole load of who-wore-what to share with you. Read more for all the pics, or browse the full list of winners.

Continue reading

2009 CFDA Fashion Awards Presented in NY


CFDA Fashion Awards underwriter Nadja Swarovski wearing Alexander McQueen with the Swarovski Award Winners Justin Giunta, Alexander Wang and Tim Hamilton with Blake Lively wearing Michael Kors. Courtesy of Jennifer Graylock.

Last night, the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) paid tribute to the winners and honorees of the 2009 CFDA Fashion Awards at Alice Tully Hall, Lincoln Center.

Polo Ralph Lauren emerged the winner of the Most Popular American Designer award; online voters decided the winnner.

Honors went to Kate & Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte for Womenswear Designer of the Year, presented by Diane Kruger.

There was a tie for Menswear Designer of the Year, which was presented by Jimmy Fallon: Scott Sternberg for Band of Outsiders and Italo Zucchelli for Calvin Klein Collection.

Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler took home the Accessory Designer of the Year Award–no real surprise there.

As we pointed out during the lead-up to the awards, First Lady Michelle Obama was honored with the Board of Directors’ Special Tribute Award by CFDA president Diane von Furstenberg for her support and commitment to American designers.

The full list of winners and honorees:

Continue reading

Who’s Your Fav American Designer?

You’ve got just a few more hours to cast your ballot in the first ever POPULAR VOTE AWARD (sponsored by L’Oreal Paris) on WWD.

Voting ends at 11:59 tonight and the winner will be announced at the June 15 CFDA Fashion Awards.

Vote now.

By the way, you can also take a look at‘s CFDA Fashion Awards Issue and watch behind the scenes footage of the supercool Swarovski Awards nominee photoshoot here.

CFDA Honors Obama

Obama-mania continues!

The Council of Fashion Designers of America will honor First Lady Michelle Obama at this year’s CFDA Fashion Awards.

She’ll receive a Board of Directors’ Special Tribute.

Narciso Rodriguez and Jason Wu, both designers to the First Lady, have been nominated for awards, with Marc Jacobs receiving quite a few nominations.

The official announcement of nominees and honorees was made last night at an exclusive event hosted by Swarovski (lead sponsor of the Awards) and the CFDA Board of Directors at the Rooftop Gardens at Rockefeller Center.

The CFDA Fashion Awards take place June 15.